Curry Lime Grilled Chicken


The first time I ate Indian food was in the West End of London during my study abroad program. My friend Moshe was mortified, rightfully so, that I had somehow managed to be on this planet for twenty years without ever tasting a samosa so he treated me to lunch on a sunny afternoon, but not before we tried to wheedle our way into the closed theatre where our hero Harold Pinter was rehearsing his (then) new play Ashes to Ashes. We were unsuccessful in our attempt to gaze upon our beloved Harold and we had to content ourselves with merely being in the same building as such a powerful creative force. We trudged off to the restaurant, slightly despondent but also laughing really hard because the guard on duty clearly thought we were stalkers or, at the very least, crazy Americans.

The name of the restaurant where we ate now escapes me but I will always remember my first taste of chicken curry. What a revelation! I grew up eating bland food and my family rarely ate out in restaurants so ethnic food wasn’t part of my life. But I was hooked after that first bite. I like to think that was the point where I became a lot more adventurous in my eating and open to tasting foods from other cultures. Curry Lime Grilled Chicken is my humble ode to the magnificent flavors of Indian cooking. There’s nothing quite like the first time you have a culinary epiphany but this recipe is my reminder of that great afternoon I spent with a friend way back when we were young and convinced that all the world was our stage.

CURRY LIME GRILLED CHICKEN

4 pounds bone-in, skin-on chicken pieces
4 garlic cloves, chopped
juice and zest of 3 limes
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 tablespoons good quality mild curry powder
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon ground fenugreek

Place chicken pieces in a large zip-top bag or in a large, wide bowl.

Whisk together remaining ingredients and pour over chicken. Turn the chicken around in the marinade to ensure that each piece is coated.

If using a zip-top bag, gently press out excess air before closing. If using a bowl, cover tightly with plastic wrap. Marinate chicken in refrigerator at least 4 hours and up to 48 hours. Turn the chicken a couple of times to allow even marinating.

Heat grill to medium. Grill chicken, about eight minutes per side for larger pieces like the breast. Smaller pieces like the wing will take a few minutes less.

Tastes great hot, at room temperature or cold.

Serves 4 generously.

One Response to “Curry Lime Grilled Chicken”

  1. Karen Says:

    What a great post! I had a culinary epiphany during my study abroad as well: I had dinner with my parents at the Grant Hotel Europe in St. Petersburg and it was the first steak I had had since being in Russia. It was then that I realized how much I love beef!!!

Leave a comment