Champagne Float

If I had to choose only one beverage to drink for the rest of my days then I would choose champagne. I swoon for the effervescent headiness of all those tiny bubbles dancing around in my mouth. Most people drink champagne only on special occasions but how many truly special occasions do you celebrate in a year? Maybe five? Six? However many you can count, why limit yourself to champagne toasts at only the most celebratory events? Let’s have bubbly every day! We’re grown-ups so who can stop us? I’m in if you’re in.

Here’s my take on the classic root beer float, updated and made elegant with champagne, sorbet and fresh berries.

CHAMPAGNE FLOAT

1 bottle dry champagne
2 pints of peach, mango or lemon sorbet
1 pint of blueberries, strawberries or blackberries
6 champagne glasses (the ones shaped like a saucer, not a flute)

Use an ice cream scoop to place a generously sized ball of sorbet into each champagne glass.

Divide the berries equally between the glasses. If the strawberries are large then cut them into halves or quarters.

Pour in enough champagne to almost reach the top of the glass.

Serve immediately.

Serves 6

2 Responses to “Champagne Float”

  1. Lorraine Says:

    Hi Janée:

    Mmmm. I happen to have a bottle of bubbly in my fridge right now and guess what I'm going to make?

    This recipe also gives me a good excuse to use my Grandma's lovely saucer-shaped champagne glasses.

    Thanks!

  2. Janée Says:

    Thanks, Lorraine. What kind of champagne is your favorite? I'm partial to Perrier-Jouet and Veuve Clicquot.

Leave a comment